Apologies

My friends, I apologize to you for limiting your exposure to Taylor Marsh’s Madhouse. I am really really really upset and tired of reading those deadenders, so I have had to limit my own exposure. I have a baby coming in about two weeks, my first, so I really need to try and be cheerful and positive, and they make it hard. So I’ll be blogging on a few other things, which I have started doing to some degree. And, the question for the day: How does the name ‘Gillian’/’Jillian’ sound for a first born girl? 🙂

Oh, and if anyone finds any comments or links over there they believe should be shared, PLEASE send the link.

9 Responses to “Apologies”

  1. Kyle E. Moore Says:

    Good name. FWIW, we named our first Kalani Kwai.

    It’s a blast though, I’m telling you. The most memorable experience in the two weeks following (other than the birth itself, of course) came from watching a movie.

    My wife was getting some well deserved sleep, so I popped in “House of Sand and Fog” and watched it with the volume turned very low and the subtitles on. Kalani slept on my chest.

    Don’t know if you ever saw that movie or not, but I can tell you that by the time it was over I was damn near squeezing my daughter to death and crying my eyeballs out.

    It’ll do that to you, trust me.

  2. Natascha Says:

    Jillian is beautiful. I knew a girl who spelled it with a “g” and people kept pronouncing it with a hard G. Weird.

    Good luck 🙂

  3. Robster Says:

    I like the name myself, but I don’t have a preference for the spelling. It’s nice.

  4. Manamongst Hussein Says:

    I like Jillian, at least it sounds like you have a say-so in the whole event of naming. which is more than I can say…and my fiancee isn’t even pregnant yet. She’s a wonderfully obsessive-compulsive Spaniard, and has her heart set on Violeta. So enjoy it, and don’t let the Marshians bother you.

  5. bostondreams Says:

    Well, say so is a matter of degree. My family has a tradition going back generations where the first born son is named after the paternal grandfather. My wife says, uh, no. So, there goes a tradition that dates back to before my family left Poland. (sigh)
    But it’s okay. Right now, I am leaning toward ‘Fenway’ for a son. So there! 🙂

  6. Manamongst Hussein Says:

    Wow…until he’s born,and then she put the foot down on you like they always do.

  7. bostondreams Says:

    Heh. Well, no, see, she said, and I quote: ‘I will name this child Fenway before I name him after your dad!’ So I said DEAL, and, well, the name is on the list. 🙂

  8. Sean ¨manamongst¨Hussein Says:

    Brilliant!

    Times like these we need those handy pocket recorders…

    Good luck with that…

  9. Gatsby Says:

    I love Jillian and if someone calls her Jilly, it sounds charming whereas Gilly just doesn’t work. I guess I’m a fan of “J” names since both my sons have them. Very best wish to you!

Leave a Reply

